The 12 Heroines of Christmas ~ Sakura

8. Kinomoto Sakura from Cardcaptor Sakura

1425381_97463_1106170_WWMy

I have been wondering why certain childhood heroines have impressed themselves so much on my memory. I think I have given pretty thoughtful explanations for why certain literary, film, and animated girls still resonate with me at the close of 2015. But honestly, sometimes it isn’t so much that a character represents the mastery of fantasy as a passageway to adulthood, the resilience and resurrecting power of love, positive self-transformation, and the importance of strength of inner character. Sometimes I just think they are, like, really really really really damn freaking cute.

(Fanart by Eastwood Wong)

Now, I do admit that a part of me is a sucker for cuteness for cuteness sake. In recent years, I thoroughly enjoyed the first season (not the second) of “Is the Order a Rabbit?” because of the sheer, non sequitur joy of rabbits + cafe + vaguely European architecture + Taisho-era waitress uniforms.

But I don’t normally fall in love with cute shows for cuteness alone. And, honestly, I don’t even like CLAMP (controversial opinion perhaps) because their art style usually leaves me cold. The actual plot of Cardcaptor Sakura is pretty forgettable.

aeb5ad4e14d4cb28bebc6ab8b35765af

I have no great, deep, thoughtful reasons why I hold onto Sakura. Basically, this is the show I like to stream in the background while I fold laundry. I just like the aesthetics of its universe. It is the epitome of pink, soft, fluffy wonder. It makes me feel like I’m in some kind of animated Disneyland ~ all artificially bright, cheerful, and clean to the degree that you kind of hate its fakeness but cannot help but get drawn, draawwwnn, sucked right into its appeal.

43033062_p0_master1200The sky is always crayon blue. The trees are full of pink blossoms. Every character is adorable, in some ridiculous outfit, and accompanied by some plushy, smushy animal. Every bow must be a gigantic pink one. Who could resist a world that makes you feel like doing this?

giphy1

 

2016 goals: make a world that is cute, bright, cheerful, and clean. Sometimes it is really very simple.

 

2 thoughts on “The 12 Heroines of Christmas ~ Sakura

  1. Sumire says:

    I love Cardcaptor Sakura! It was running in Nakayoshi when I was an exchange student in Japan so I don’t doubt nostalgia accounts from some of the affection but I too love how adorable it is. And hey 絶対大丈夫だよ is not a bad message to hold on to either. Sometimes the sheer belief that you’ll make it through is what you need to make it through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

