Princess Tutu: The story must come to an end (MPC 9/30 – 11/30 )

The final arc of Princess Tutu (Episodes 22-26) is amazing – and not just because I got to take so many fantastic, angry, constipated “writer’s block” faces.

vlcsnap-2015-08-24-23h06m44s39vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h41m57s179

vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h45m22s181vlcsnap-2015-08-24-23h01m38s52

There are two big themes that I want to pick out.

First, we see Fakia grapple with what it means to be a storyteller.

On one end, there are the ominous “Book Men.” Shrouded and strange, they “managed” stories’ impact on the world by cutting off Drosselmeyer’s hands and burning the endings of his books. They are neither writers nor readers but maybe represent critics.

vlcsnap-2015-08-24-22h44m27s244vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h46m03s82

They play a small role but it is interesting how closely they mirror Drosselmeyer’s desire for control. The only difference is, they control with gruesome and conservative cruelty whereas Drosselmeyer controls with flippant, irresponsible cruelty.

vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h43m26s44vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h43m29s80

Fakia is also supported begrudingly by Aotoa (the Author) who is still somewhat convinced he himself is the most qualified, the smartest, and deserving by birthright. It is telling that he is called Author, a title that suggests an identity as opposed to a practice (the difference between “I tell stories” and “I’m an author” is illuminating). Authorship as a concept is similarly about control, ego, and fame.

vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h42m02s234vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h15m44s61

Fakia though is a story teller, a spinner, a magician. He does not write for to control, for power, for fame, or recognition but out of love, friendship, and a desire to help. Though… technically, he cannot write anything on his own until the finale since he’s suffering writer’s block like you wouldn’t believe.

vlcsnap-2015-08-24-23h01m14s68vlcsnap-2015-08-24-23h01m35s25

Ultimately Fakia does write but not about Mythos, the prince they all want to save and ostensible hero of the broken tale. The only thing he can spin stories around is Ahiru – not just because he loves her and wants to protect her but because he believes in her role and because she is waiting for his story.

vlcsnap-2015-08-26-23h12m37s144vlcsnap-2015-08-26-23h13m13s230

Lesson 1: Fakia spins magic as a story teller because he is inspired by and wants to share stories out of love for the world — not out of a desire for control, power, or his own ego. 

The second theme I want to emphasize is, The Story Must Come to an End.

vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h49m12s173

The entire universe of Princess Tutu spins on the suffering spun by an unfinished story. The jewel seller Edel from season 1 muses, “A story that never ends is a cruel thing.” And in the lead up to the finale, Ahiru tearfully admits that she is terrified for the story to end. She will disappear and return to her “true self,” which is not a little girl in an arts school that has many friends…but a weak little duck floating alone in a pond.

vlcsnap-2015-08-26-23h01m28s118vlcsnap-2015-08-26-23h01m30s139

Fakia similarly pauses in the middle of the battle, eager to do something to help. Aotoa has to force him back to his desk to finish the tale, which is his best form of fighting.

Lesson 2: Aotoa said it best. “You decided to write a story, didn’t you? Then write it to the end!”

As for my own writing?

Started at 4pm

Wrote 307 polished, new words.

I did a little bit better because I slept more! It is actually hard to remember to come back to the blog to monitor my progress but I feel like it keeps me honest.

And here are some lovely, left over stills from the show’s final episodes.

vlcsnap-2015-08-24-22h39m12s162 vlcsnap-2015-08-24-22h39m14s178  vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h19m08s62 vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h55m39s211vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h37m46s228 vlcsnap-2015-08-26-22h37m58s91

~~~

Aug 27: Hm I think I will continue to edit older posts to add writing updates. It seems cleaner than filling up new blog posts just to notch writing, right? I hope Sumire can find these though haha.

I am happy to realize I am 1/3 done with this shockingly challenging, er, Challenge.

Started at 2:30 pm

Wrote: Honestly, today was impossible to count. I edited heavily and submitted a polished 80% finished draft to my writing partner! It was a ton of work but I’m not sure how much new text was included to the word. Again, the goal is to finish the draft 100% and I have to remember that mid-stage editing only TEMPORARILY feels like progress but it is ultimately busy work until I can assess the entire thing. And nothing feels better than being DONE.

August 28

Started Writing: 4pm

Wrote: 179.

Review: Today was a little odd because we had a writing group (exchange writing and share comments). Tomorrow I have to get back on track.

3 thoughts on “Princess Tutu: The story must come to an end (MPC 9/30 – 11/30 )

  1. Sumire says:

    Started at 4:30ish

    Wrote 179 words right around the scene I stopped writing at way back in the day

    I want to write more but I really want to scrounge up what I wrote in the past. I feel like there are a few plot points I’ve forgotten and maybe I’ll just get rid of them but I’d like to see them first before writing myself too far away from them. I’m also trying really hard to not include blatant bias in my character interactions and that’s actually a struggle. Also trying to not think what a fanfic writer could do with my characters (this is because I read a lot of fanfic…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • cheri says:

      Hey Sumire, we’re 1/3 done!! I am also trying not to be distracted (by old writing, by new things to read) and just force the current ideas down on the page. It is so hard!

      Like

  2. Sumire says:

    Started at 6:30 pm (or thereabouts)

    Wrote: 249 words

    It’s not a great many words but I’m happy because my main character voiced a few things I hadn’t really considered yet. While typing it up, even seeing how small the amount was once it was in print on a screen, I was really pleased because it struck me, “I’m writing this story.” I know, duh? However for so long if I ever mentioned it I had to choose my words carefully. I “started it in college,” or I “had a children’s story I was working on,” or the like. I couldn’t say I was writing it because I wasn’t. I hadn’t been in ages. Now however, even at 4 or 140 words a day, I am writing this story.

    I feel like at 1/3 of the way through (unbelievable) this challenge I have enough I could share my new pieces with people (friends, fellow writers) and there’d be something to share. The world is becoming alive again and I feel like there are things outside of my vision, darting about in the corners, that exist even though I don’t know it yet. It’s a magical feeling. I can imagine other people wanting to play in my world too. Yesterday’s caution as I thought “would fanfic writers claim there was some subliminal thing going on in this scene” has become today’s “If I can create a world where people want to know the backstory, the details I wrote but may eventually leave out because describing how their bags are made really slows down the plot, how amazing would that be?”

    80% finished polished draft? That’s amazing! Kudos to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

