FAILURE (and adaptation)

At the start of April, I tried an experiment. I wanted to wake up at 6 am to use a full hour to myself in the morning before the baby woke up. I was gunning for an active, fulfilling morning because, my theory was

When you wake up and get out of the house, you’re putting yourself on the start of an adventure.

Goal: Wake up at 6 am (1 hour before the baby) everyday for a month

Result: LOLOLOLOLOLLLL.

Analysis: I thought I’d wake up with the sun, have a cup of hot coffee in peace while journaling. Then get in a page of work before hearing my little sweet baby babble. Maybe go for a jog…In any case, I’d be up and all

So…No. I’m NOTORIOUSLY BAD at predicting and accounting for setbacks. In the end, I’d wake up and then creep out of the room with all the lights off, trying to find my contacts without waking anyone up.

Then, I’d be like this for about 15 minutes:

By then it was 6:30 am and my child is already awake, of course, but not like really up-up. So I’d spend the rest of the time sort of counting down until the baby was up “for good” and feeling guilty because my husband was flopping around angrily trying to go back to sleep after all the beeping and booping of the kitchen woke him. Instead of starting the day off with energy and enthusiasm, I ended up feeling like I had to tiptoe around my own kitchen in a blur of sleepiness. It was pointless. I got nothing done and it was not a peaceful experience at all. In fact, it threw my entire day off. HOWEVER. I recently read a Reddit AMA by Tim Ferris, one of those productivity gurus who got famous for his series of “4-Hour Workday” kind of books. (My other blog is a productivity one so I am all over these things). One thing he recommended was the “5 minute journal.”  There is some scientific claims on why the 5 minute journal works and a long standing cultural obsession with morning journaling so I thought it would be good to try this instead. Basically, you start and end each day spending 5 minutes writing in a journal. In the morning, you ask:

  • What are three things I’m grateful for?
  • What would make today great?
  • Write a daily affirmation.

Before bed, you ask:

  • What were three amazing things that happened today?
  • How could I have made today better?

It is a much nicer thing I can do for myself each morning and only takes 5 minutes a day. So far, it is working out quite nicely.

3 thoughts on “FAILURE (and adaptation)

  1. otsukareina says:

    It’s very hard waking up so early! It’s not even necessarily yourself but trying to be quiet so you don’t disturb others is hard.. I’m also notoriously loud because I can’t gauge volume so people in the house tend to get annoyed with me if I’m doing anything early. The journaling sounds like a fantastic idea! Have you kept up with it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • cheri says:

      I have because it takes less than 5 minutes. It sometimes feels annoying on good days but I appreciate it on bad days — it helps me feel like, “oh this was a great day after all!” and go to bed haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

