Goal: A Better Workspace – Finale

March is over and my 3 concurrent projects are going pretty well. Now that I’ve been using my new workspace for about 2 weeks, I feel comfortable with a final update on cleaning up my work area, which I blogged about here and here.

Before…
IMG_9584

After….

FullSizeRender

Not a dramatic makeover but it makes a huge difference!

I removed the remote control that was (for whatever reason) drilled into the wall near the light switch. Then I washed everything, including the walls, with mild soapy water. I attached my computer cord and iphone charger to my desk so these things can be tucked away when not in use.The book are now held upright with bookends and not…other stacked books or random boxes of crap. Random crap is gone.

FullSizeRender (2)

How many pens and pencils does one need? Not that many. I only keep a few on hand now with some earplugs, paperclips, a magnifying glass (for work), and my little phone stand. I had to experiment working at my desk for a few days to make sure things that I need are easily at hand and things I don’t touch are tucked away in some organized spot. Small Sailor Moon accents make me happy without distracting me.

FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (4)

Extra pens and pencils go into a pencil case inside the drawer along with small memo pads, study tabs shaped like bears, office goods, and the cutest bunny microfiber towel to dust.

I had no room to expand so I hung an over-the-door hook for my bag (not in photo). I added a hanging clipboard modge-podged in the same glassy design as my corkboards using a tutorial like this. That was genius. You know how your papers are like, “out of sight, out of mind” and people either leave them on the table or shove them in a drawer? I keep mine literally hanging in my face but off the table this way. When I go to work, I just grab the corkboard and add it to my computer bag! Since we’re renting, I hung the corkboards and clipboard using 3M strips.

Corkboard has my self-made anime calendar, some inspirational quotes and pictures, a memo pad, recurring schedule.

I wish I could have completely redone everything with a bigger budget but, I had to be realistic with my money, my time, my patience, and um, my ability to DIY stuff.

Total Cost: under $40
White spray paint can (I originally bought mint green but returned it)
Modge Podge
12 sheets of craft paper in that glassy sea marble print (used only 9)
2 corkboards
2 bookends
Plastic desk organizer
Cute microfiber towel
Clipboard
3M command strips and hook

One thought on “Goal: A Better Workspace – Finale

Leave a Reply

