A Better Work Space Update

Last week I blogged about a new goal for March: improve my work space for under $45 so I can focus and study like the nerdiest nerd heroines imaginable.

I want an office area that is bascially the love child of this place (sparse clean, bright, Scandinavian home via decor8 )…

and Mizuno Ami’s brilliant, white apartment in PGSM…

vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h52m32s205 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h52m41s47   vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m09s71 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m11s91 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m20s178 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m22s193 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m28s255 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m31s30 vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m37s94  vlcsnap-2015-03-01-14h53m46s182

and with something reminding me of my two all time favorite heroines:

michiru utena love

 

that smug, perfect bitch Kaioh Michiru (love her) and the gallant, inspiring Utena (want to be her).

But…after wasting time on Pinterest and general home design/makeover blogs, I realize just how challenging this is actually turning out to be.

1. Money
I set a $45 limit which means I can’t just pay my way to a new desk, new lamp, new organized life.
2. Space
My apartment is tiny and the only place for my desk is crammed between the door and the bed. There is no space for a file cabinet, desk extension, etc. And of course, there is no garage, no special “craft room,” or generally any free space to lay out complicated DIY craft projects. This is related to…
3. Renting
Like most students in apartments, I cannot drill and hammer in wall shelves, rewire for a new light source, or repaint the walls. I’ve got to just work with what we have.
4. Time
Okay so…who are these bitches strolling around flea markets every goddamn weekend? And then they go home and refurbish chipped wood, sand, prep, repaint, add intricate washi tape patterns, hand-glue vintage crafted buttons onto push pins? Because these people CLEARLY do not ACTUALLY need a home office to do sit-down-work for 40+ hours a week./rant

How I resolved these problems:

I’ll probably make a separate post because this one is getting too long but!  Basically I spent $45, with coupons and discounts, on…
Michaels: 2 cans of spray paint (white and pale aqua/mint), Modge Podge, gold paint pen, 12 sheets of craft paper.
Daiso: 2 cork boards, 2 bookends, 1 desk drawer organizer, and the most amazingly cute microfiber towel to keep dust away.
Office Depot: 3 clipboards.
Target: Command strips to hang stuff on the walls.

Today I spent about 20 minutes doing my first ever spray paint makeover on the cork boards. First I put 2 layers of white spray paint on the cork board frames. The pink paper was just to help cover the board.
IMG_9674IMG_9677

 

I then covered the cork part with this beautiful mint-green-bluish “glassy” paper that I found at Michaels. It looks like marble, like the ocean, like glass, etc. It seemed like it’d be relaxing to have as a background and it reminded me a little of Michiru haha.

IMG_9675IMG_9678

 

After I filled the board with paper, I hung the two boards on the wall using velcro hanging strips so the wall wouldn’t get damaged. Here it is so far:

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender (1)

I still have lots of work to do and the paper isn’t completely seamless. But, for 20 minutes? I’m pretty happy with it so far.

One thought on “A Better Work Space Update

Leave a Reply

