Skinny Bitches: An Anime Diet Update

2 weeks ago I blogged about starting the most cliche and boring kind of self-improvement project: losing weight.  Here is an update on how things are going.

START DATE: Feb 12, 2015
STARTING WEIGHT: 124
CURRENT WEIGHT: 121.6
WEIGHT LOST: 2.4
GOAL WEIGHT: 114
END DATE: July 12, 2015
So, slightly over 1lb a week? That’s not a bad start!

My method?
I found out my TDEE is roughly 1500 calories from this website. Don’t freak out it is lower than average because I am pretty much a sedentary middle-aged midget. Most people will probably use the same amount of calories if they were lying in a coma.

Anyhow, so websites like IIFYM or My Fitness Pal will automatically suggest a daily calorie guide for you based on your health goals but, meh. I am not in a huge hurry to be all HOT and eating less is tough for me haha. So I just aimed for slightly lower than my TDEE at 1400 calories. My Fitness Pal (which is otherwise an awesome resource) judgingly was like “if you stay at this calorie intake, it’ll take you 1298310928310983 years to reach your goal weight” but I couldn’t push myself more than that right now. I’m still in the middle of grad school and can’t afford to be in a hunger daze all day.

I set my macros at 35% protein, 35% carbs, and 30% fat.

Then I meal planned like a fiend. Some of the meals that were anime-inspired went on this blog. I eat some cliche things like lots of celery and 0 calorie drinks. Otherwise, I’ve been lurking on various healthy recipe subreddits and websites like CookingLight.

I tried not to be like this

Maybe in a month, I’ll start exercising.

The biggest thing I miss is pigging out on desserts. While one part of anime binge watching reminds me to be athletic and lean and whatever like I’ve got to beat up monsters, the other problem is…wtf are these characters always eating strawberry shortcake and pudding and crap? Bitches!

One thought on “Skinny Bitches: An Anime Diet Update

Leave a Reply

