Goals: Better Mornings

Compare ….

From: Card Captor Sakura

Season 1 Episode 1: 「さくらと不思議な魔法の本」or “Sakura and the Strange Magical Book.”

CCS 1 Sakura and the Mysterious Book

with…
Season 1 Episode 27: 「さくらと思い出の神社」or “Sakura and the Shrine of Memories.”

CCS 27 Sakura and the Shrine of Memories 1CCS 27 Sakura and the Shrine of Memories 3

One of the most common anime tropes is the morning routine scene: our bumbling heroine has overslept and rushes around so she isn’t late for school. She might end up running all the way to school with her breakfast still hanging out of her mouth.

 We see it again…

and again….

and again!

I guess this is the way to make anime heroines cute and relatable early on in the show. It also sets them up for some easy character development.

Because, the same thing ALWAYS happens midpoint through the character’s maturation in the show: she wakes up early. Usually it is from a magical dream or sometimes it is just her “new” responsible self, but either way, it is supposed to be a symbolic mark in the grand arc of the character’s lifeline. Plus, we also see the friend/ side kick/ sub-heroine waking up VERY early to go to school, read books, and generally have calm pleasant mornings. Anime is for kids after all and those types of moral lessons are usually slipped in. She might take a bath and read books (Mizuno Ami) or practice ballet (Ahiru) or go for a morning skate and sweep up near the temple (Kinomoto Sakura) or try to visit that guy she likes (Tsukino Usagi). This is Disney but pretty much the anthem for early morning go-getters:

So I have never made it to that midpoint where I have beautiful vivid dreams that reveal my future and then I jumpstart on a fabulous and productive day. Yeah no I am perpetually stuck in the “OMG I’M LATE!” arc of my life. Even when I get up in the morning, I feel like death and after 30-some years of my life, I still do this all the damn time:

This is something I’d like to change in my life.

Because some how or another, the cliche about early birds and all the worms and productive days and all that are true. When my morning is bad, the whole day is a drudge.

2 thoughts on “Goals: Better Mornings

Leave a Reply

