Skinny Bitches: Anime as a Diet Guide

I gained 20 lbs since college. The last 10 are from my pregnancy and the chaos of having a baby last year. Now that my son is almost 1, I’d like to get back into shape but dieting is so so so so so so freaking boring and hard. The only way it’ll work is if I conjoin healthier eating and exercising to a foolproof obsession of mine: aka, anime. 

This isn’t going to be that hard of a sell. Since almost everyone in anime is beautiful, watching a show feels like flipping through an aspirational fashion magazine. Characters are inherently “airbrushed” because animators are not going to bother with the small annoyances of corporeal reality like pimples, dry and scraped knees, wrinkled clothing, and dry hair ends. Since many shows want to maintain a “look” on top of their idealized bodies, we end up with entire casts of impossibly slim, long legged teens with buoyant breasts, amazingly huge eyes with impossible lashes, and perfectly styled hair. Whenever there is a group shot in Sailor Moon, I catch myself rolling my eyes and saying “damn those skinny bitches.” Not to mention how Sailor Moon Crystal managed to make everyone EVEN THINNER.

Skinny bitch settei:

settei-sailormoon-180

Of course, we all know it is problematic if anime gives impressionable kids unrealistic body expectations and unhealthy insecurities. I admit to freaking out when I learned that Anthy was 5’2″ like me, but 90lbs…unlike me. But I also took fencing for a few years after becoming totally obsessed with that show. “Cosplay diet” aside, it is wonderful if a beloved show can encourage you to be more active and healthy. What if you took up tennis because you love the Prince of Tennis and subsequently lost a ton of weight (a true story)?

MEALS:
I’ll be posting recipes on this blog, based on things I see in anime. In general, I’ll be managing my macros and meal planning like a fiend, while channeling characters like Kino Makoto.

EXERCISE:
Diet is more important for losing weight initially so I’m not too worried that I have no gym, no dvd program, no babysitter, nothing. Though, I can’t see how hard it would be to imagine running like crazy to fight youma like Sailor Moon or swimming laps in the pool like Sailor Neptune. Or in terms of inspiration, even Sakura rollerblades to school every morning and is known for her athletic skills; she is the best runner, a cheerleader, and generally good at sports.

START DATE: Feb 12, 2015
CURRENT WEIGHT: 124
WEIGHT LOST: tbd
GOAL WEIGHT: 114
END DATE: July 12, 2015
I arbitrarily give myself about 5 months, which is a little after Anime Expo 2015.

One thought on “Skinny Bitches: Anime as a Diet Guide

Leave a Reply

